

# HOKKAIDO POPULATION BY COUNTY

# 1886

# Ōshima Province: 121,178

Hakodate City: 45,477
Matsumae County: 21,690
Kameta County: 19,566
Kamiiso County: 11,302
Hiyama County: 10,874
Nishi County: 9,654
Kayabe County: 8,615

### Shiribeshi Province: 66,446

Otaru County: 13,416 Iwanai County: 7,115 Yoichi County: 6,998 Takashima County: 6,165 Suttsu County: 4,656 Furū County: 4,272 Furuhira County: 3,770 Oshivoro County: 2,943 Shimakomaki County: 2,776 Isoya County: 2,622 Kudō County: 2,555 Utasutsu County: 2,518 Bikuni County: 2,067 Shakotan County: 2,010 Setana County: 1,409 Futoro County: 673

Okushiri County: 482

# Ishikari Province: 43,399

Sapporo City: 14,935
Sapporo County: 14,290
Ishikari County: 3,931
Hamamashike County: 2,036
Kabato County: 1,589
Atsuta County: 1,564
Kamikawa County: 221
Uriu County: 72
Yūhari County: 28

# Iburi Province: 12,901

Usu County: 4,855 Muroran County: 1,793 Yamakushi County: 1,662 Yūfutsu County: 1,455 Chitose County: 946 Horobetsu County: 790 Abuta County: 707 Shiraoi County: 693

# Hidaka Province: 11,515

Shizunai County: 2,888 Urakawa County: 2,765 Saru County: 2,058 Horoitsumi County: 1,624 Mitsuishi County: 753 Samani County: 753 Niikafu County: 674

#### **Nemuro Province: 8,533**

Nemuro County: 7,042 Shihetsu County: 471 Hanasaki County: 418 Notsuke County: 398 Menashi County: 204

## **Kushiro Province: 7,547**

Kushiro County: 3,630 Akkeshi County: 3,196 Kawakami County: 868 Shiranuka County: 511 Akan County: 210 Ashiyose County: 109

#### **Teshio Province: 7.220**

Mashike County: 4,559 Rumoi County: 1,337 Tomamai County: 1,257 Teshio County: 67 Kamikawa County: 42 Nakagawa County: 17

#### Kitami Province: 3,566

Reshiri County: 1,322
Rebun County: 1,069
Sōya County: 465
Abashiri County: 462
Monbetsu County: 399
Shari County: 237
Esashi County: 189
Tokoro County: 122

#### **Tokachi Province: 1,773**

Nakagawa County: 667 Kasai County: 500 Tokachi County: 446 Hirō County: 419 Katō County: 160 Kamikawa County: 0

#### **Chishima Province: 887**

(Boundaries not drawn)
Shana County: 509
Kokushiri County: 492
Shihetoro County: 154
Furehetsu County: 118
Etorofu County: 106
Shumushu County: No Data

**Note:** Provincial totals are sums of county statistics not provided by the source. Sapporo City and Hakodate are located in Sapporo and Kamiiso Counties respectively, but there populations are recorded separately. City boundaries are not represented to scale.